Search the news archives by one or more of the following:

Date Range: (mm/dd/yyyy)

Archives: 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 |(All)

News Home

Alumni eNewsletter Sign Up

RSS News Feeds

Got News? Submit it here.
  • Leslie Lyon, Director of Public Affairs, College of Fine Arts, (512) 475-7033

Blanton Museum of Art Director Search

Committee formed to find successor to Jessie Otto Hite

Walkway at the Blanton

A search committee has been formed for the next director of the Blanton Museum of Art. The members of the committee are listed below. Ken Hale, associate dean of the College and former chair of the Department of Art & Art History, has agreed to serve as the committee's chair.

This is an extraordinarily able and expert group that well represents the broad patronage and diverse mission of the Blanton Museum. The committee is in the process of engaging a leading search firm with expertise in placing art museum professionals. University of Texas President Bill Powers has committed funding necessary to hire one of the top firms in hopes of attracting the strongest possible candidates.

The current director, Jessie Otto Hite, plans to retire effective March 2008 after 30 years at The University of Texas at Austin. Click here to read more about her distinguished career.

The committee will broadcast widely for nominations. If you would like to nominate someone to be considered as a candidate for the directorship or have any questions regarding the search, please contact any member of the committee or Ken Hale. Ken may be contacted at or (512) 475–7035.

Members of the Blanton Museum of Art director's search committee:

  • Ken Hale, Chair (Senior Associate Dean, College of Fine Arts)
  • Jonathan Bober (Curator of Prints, Drawings, and European Paintings, Blanton Museum)
  • Annette Carlozzi (Curator of American & Contemporary Art and Director of Curatorial Affairs, Blanton Museum)
  • John Clarke (Annie Laurie Howard Regents Professor in Fine Arts, Art & Art History)
  • Amanda Douberly (PhD student, Art History; Curator at Gallery 3, CRL, and others; Critic)
  • Jeanne Klein (Member of Blanton Museum Council)
  • Janice Leoshko (Associate Professor, Art and Art History and Asian Studies)
  • Bryan Roberts (Professor of Sociology, Director of the Institute for Latin American Studies)
  • Victoria Rodriguez (Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies)
  • Sarah Schultz (Undergraduate Studio Art major; President of Fine Arts Council)
  • Melba Whatley (Former member of Blanton Museum Council)
  • Simone Wicha (Director of Development, Blanton Museum)